BJP announces candidates for Himachal Pradesh; Shanta Kumar and Virender Kashyap replaced, Anurag and Ram Swaroop retained

The Hush Post | 8:47 pm | One-minute read |

BJP has declared the candidates for all the four Lok Sabha seats in Himachal Pradesh. The party has changed its sitting MPs in Kangra and Shimla but has retained its MPs in Hamirpur and Mandi.

While Anurag Thakur will contest the Lok Sabha elections for the fourth consecutive time from Hamirpur, Mandi Member of Parliament Ram Swaroop Sharma will fight the LS polls for the second time.

In Kangra, outgoing MP Shanta Kumar had declared that he won’t be contesting elections this time. Consequently, the BJP has fielded state food and civil supplies minister Kishan Kumar from Kangra. Kishan Kumar belongs to the Gaddi community which holds a considerable influence in the constituency.

In the reserved constituency of Shimla, the BJP has replace sitting MP Virender Kashyap with Pachhad MLA Suresh Kumar Kashyap. Virender Kashyap was facing anti-incumbency and hence the party opted for Suresh Kashyap who also happens to be an ex-serviceman.

The BJP has again placed the bet on sitting MP Ram Swaroop Sharma in Mandi. The party is hopeful of sailing through in Mandi despite anti-incumbency against Sharma. Mandi district has emerged as a power centre after the BJP won 9 out of 10 seats in assembly elections and Jairam Thakur was chosen as the CM.

For Hamirpur, the BJP has relied upon 3-time MP Anurag Thakur. This is the safest seat for the BJP in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here