Coronavirus pandemic: 75 districts across country put under lockdown

The Hush Post | 6:48 pm | One-minute read |

The central government has put 75 districts across the country on lockdown till March 31 in a bid to curtail spread of coronavirus. The affected districts include 3 from Punjab, 5 from Haryana, one from Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh.

In Punjab Hoshiarpur, SAS Nagar and SBS Nagar districts have been put under lockdown. In Haryana, five districts- Faridabad, Sonepat, Panchkula, Panipat and Gurugram are on lockdown. Kangra in Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh too are under the lockdown.

A high-level meeting of chief secretaries of all states and cabinet secretary and the principal secretary to the prime minister took place in Delhi on Sunday.

The officials agreed upon the urgent need to extend the restrictions on the movement of non-essential passenger transport, including interstate transport buses, till March 31 to contain the spread of the deadly COVID-19.

Accordingly, the officials decided to put the 75 districts under lockdown. All seven districts in Delhi as well as metro cities of Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad and Kolkata will be under lockdown.

Now state governments will issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in these 75 districts with confirmed COVID-19 cases or casualties.

The state governments may expand the list depending on their assessment of the situation.

The total number of novel coronavirus cases in India rose to 341 while the death toll climbed to seven on Sunday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here