Left wins JNU polls, a seat each to AISA, AISF, SFI & DSF


The Hush Post: After much conflict, finally the Jawahar Lal Nehru election JNUSU results have been announced.

The left student organisations came out victorious by clinching top four central panel posts.

The results were expected early this morning. However, the counting process had to be suspended as few students, reportedly from ABVP, barged into the counting room and attempted to snatch away ballot papers. 14 hours after the chaos, counting resumed in the evening, yesterday.jnusu

In a first, huge voter turnout has kept the most keenly JNU election, this year, in high trend. Last year, as well Left alliance had won the elections.

The trend was quite visible after the councillor results were declared. Usually, the councillor results determine the final outcome.

This year, the Left has won the councillor posts, those were earlier in the strongholds of ABVP- School of Life Sciences, School of Computer and System Sciences.

Presidential contender N Sai Balaji (AISA) from School of International Studies (SIS) has emerged victorious with 2161 votes. Sarika Choudhary (DSF) bagged 2,692 votes and was elected the vice president. Aejaj Ahmed (SFI) polled 2,423 votes and won the post of general secretary. Amutha Jayadeep (AISF) was declared winner for the post of joint secretary with a margin of 2,047votes.

Leaders of the other three posts belong to the School of Social Sciences.

Left Unity candidates won 14 out of 15 councillor posts in big schools like SSS, SL and SIS. NSUI got one post.

BAPSA won a seat in School of Arts and Aesthetics ABVP too won a councillor’s seat.

Leave a Reply