New Pink Line service to begin Aug 16 onwards from Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus to Lajpat Nagar


The Hush Post: A new Pink Line Metro service will begin August 16 onwards. Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) will open its service on the Pink Line from Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus to Lajpat Nagar section on August 6, 2018. The 8.10-km route will be flagged off by Minister of State (Independent Charge), Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

The Pink Line’s section will be flagged off via remote from Metro Bhawan at 11.30 am and it will be made available for people 1 pm onwards on that very day. The stretch comprises six stations, including two interchange stations at Lajpat Nagar and INA. After this pink line, the Delhi Metro will become 296-kilometre long with 214 Metro stations. And DMRC’s Phase III will 106 km long.

“This new section would also shrink travel time for commuters by up to 20 minutes. The current travel time on the network between INA and Lajpat Nagar (Violet Line) stations is about 24 minutes which would reduce to five minutes. Commuting time between Hauz Khas and Lajpat Nagar is 23 minutes, which would shrink to 16 minutes,” Dayal said.


Leave a Reply