ECI announces Lok Sabha polls in 7 phases on Apr 11, 18, 23, 29, May 6, 12, 19; counting of votes on May 23

Covid 19 death

Polls for the north Indian states of Punjab (13 seats), HP (4 seats), Chandigarh (1 seat) and Haryana (10 seats) to be held on May 19 while for Delhi it will be held on May 12

The Hush Post| 5:15 am |two-minute-read

The elections for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases, the Election Commision of India has announced.

The elections will be held for phase one on April 11.

The election date for phase two is April 18.

The election date for phase three is 23 April.

The election date for phase four is April 29.

The election date for phase five is May 6.

The election date for phase six is May 12 (Delhi 7 seats).

The election date for phase seven is May 19 (Punjab 13 seats, HP 4 seats, Chandigarh 1 seat and Haryana 10 seats).

The counting will take place on May 23.

Here are the highlights

There are 15 million voters between the age of 18 to 19.

  • VVPATS in all polling stations along with a paper trail.
  • No use of soldier’s photos during election campaign.
  • Installation of CCTVs at sensitive polling booths.
  • Faces of candidates on the EVMs will be visible.
  • Total number of voters up from 81 crore to 90 crore.
  • PWD (Persons with Disability) app will be available for those who cannot walk or visit the polling booth to vote. 
  • Number of polling stations increased by 10 per cent.
  • Candidates to furnish their social media details.

The elections will be held for 543 seats of the Lok Sabha at approximately 10 lakh polling booths across the country.

In 2014, the Lok Sabha polling was held on nine days between April 7 and May 12. The votes were counted on May 16.

The BJP got a majority on its own on a strong Modi wave. This was the first time since 1984 general elections that a single political party could win a majority. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance won 336 Lok Sabha seats. The BJP won 282 seats on its own.

Congress ended up with just 44 seats the lowest ever since independence. It was a figure that disqualified Mallikarjun Kharge, the party’s leader in the Lok Sabha from getting the title of a Leader of Opposition.

PM Modi is the second Prime Minister who is non-Congress and has been able to complete a full term in office in the country’s history. Atal Bihari Vajpayee being the first.

That is something Congress president Rahul Gandhi is trying hard to stop, posing the biggest challenge to the ruling BJP’s efforts to get re-elected in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here