Pramod Sawant to be next Goa CM; will have two deputy CMs

The Hush Post | 7:46 pm | Two-minute read |

BJP leader Pramod Sawant will be the next chief minister of Goa. Media reports, quoting sources, say that Pramod Sawant will take oath of office tonight at 9 pm. Sawant is currently the Speaker of Goa Assembly. The BJP MLAs have chosen him as the leader of the legislature party.

Besides, there will be two deputy chief ministers in Goa.  MGP’s Sudin Dhavlikar and GFP’s Vijay Sardesai will be the deputy CMs.

A meeting between BJP president Amit Shah, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Sawant is underway in a Panaji hotel.

Notably, late Manohar Parrikar was leading a coalition government in Goa with the support of Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP), Goa Forward Party (GFP) and an independent.  Parrkiar had assumed office in 2017.

Presently, the Congress is the largest single party in the state with 14 MLAs. After the demise of Manohar Parrikar and BJP MLA Francis D’Souza, the strength of the BJP has reduced to 12 in the 40-member-strong Goa Assembly. The MGP and the GFP have 3 MLAs each, the NCP has one MLA and 3 are independents.

With the demise of Parrikar and D’souza, the strength of Goa Assembly has reduced from 40 to 36.

The Congress was the single largest party with 16 MLAs after the 2017 Goa assembly election results. But the party lost three MLAs to the BJP. Two Congress MLAs — Subhash Shirodkar and Dayanand Sopte- also joined the BJP later. The Congress currently has 14 MLAs, down from 16 after Dayanand Sopte and Subhash Shirodkar left it to join the BJP.

Leave a Reply