Kasauli firing: SP Mohit Chawla, DSP, 2 SHOs, naib tehsildar suspended; 9 officials chargesheeted

HP govt suspended cops

The Hush Post: The Jai Ram Government has taken a major decision regarding Kasauli firing incident in which a  Town and Country Planner officials Shailbala Sharma and PWD labourer Gulab Singh were killed.

The government has suspended five officers including the then Superintendent of Police (SP) Mohit Chawla. Apart from him SDPO Parwanoo Ramesh Sharma, Jagpal Singh, Naib Tehsildaar Kasauli, Madan Singh SHO Dharampur, Dalip Singh SHO Kasauli. Action is being initiated against SP Mohit Chawla under All India Services discipline and appeal rules 1969.

The government is also initiating disciplinary action against nine more officials who include HC Nagendar, PP Sairy, HHC Hemraj, PS Darlaghat, Constable Sanjeev, PS Dharampur, Constable Sunil PS Dharampur, LC Champa, PS Dharampur, LC Usha, LC Sharda, PS Dharampur, Constable Ishwar and Constable Narinder from PL Solan.

Earlier, the Director General of Police had transferred five policemen, including two quick reaction team members, who were part of the 14-member police squad deployed at Narayani Guest House in Kasauli when the shooting incident took place on May 1, to the 6th IR Battalion, Kolar.

The action follows an inquiry report, submitted by the Divisional Commissioner, which indicted them for negligence.

While two SHOs of Kasauli and Dharampur had been shifted to the Police Lines at Solan soon after the incident, they were further transferred to the 6th IR Battalion, Kolar.

On May 1, owner of the Narayani Guest House Vijay Singh shot Shailbala and Gulab Singh and went absconding. He was subsequently traced from Mathura with a changed appearance. He is currently lodged in jail.

Leave a Reply