The Hush Post: Virat Kohli is the costliest IPL player followed by MS Dhoni in Indian Premier League 2018. Dhoni is back with Chennai Super Kings for a price of Rs 15 crore. Also back are players like Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja in the side.

To understand the entire gamut of IPL, here is a bit of background about the Indian Premier League. The maximum number of players that each franchise can opt for is five, in two stages. The first is via the Player Retention (held in Mumbai), and the second through the Right to Match (RTM) which will take place during the IPL player auction on January 27-28. As per the IPL rules, a franchise can have a maximum of either three retentions or three RTMs. Should a franchise not choose to retain a player before the auction, it can have up to three RTMs on the big day.
Similarly, Virat Kohli has been retained by Royal Challenge Bangalore as also the swashbuckling Proteas batsman AB de Villiers.  Virat has been bought for Rs 17 crore, Rs 3 crore more than IPL 2017’s costliest player Ben Stokes’ auction last time round. However, RCB has not retained Chris Gayle, who is their most destructive batsman for many seasons now.

Kolkata Knight Riders retained the West Indian pair of Sunil Narine and Andre Russell.  However, the two-time IPL winners did not retain Gautam Gambhir who led them to IPL victory in 2012 and 2014. The former India opener was the one to turn around the Kolkata-based franchise with his captaincy, crucial batting and selection of certain other Indian players and experienced overseas players. In 122 matches for KKR, Gambhir has 3345 runs, with 30 half-centuries. Nobody has scored more. All rounder Yusuf Pathan was also not retained.

Kings XI Punjab, who are yet to win IPL, did not retain David Miller, Shaun Marsh and Glenn Maxwell.
The three-time title winners Mumbai Indians did not retain their top two wickets-takers, who have not played for any other franchise, Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here