HD Kumaraswamy loses trust vote in Karnataka Assembly, JDS-Congress coalition government falls


The Hush Post | 8:30 pm | One-minute read |

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has lost the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly on Tuesday. The Kumaraswamy-led JDS-Congress government fell on the fourth day of when when the House debated on the confidence motion. The Kumaraswamy government polled 99 votes in comparison to the 105 votes against it.

The trust vote was necessitated after 15 MLAs resigned, plunging the government to a minority.

Two Independent MLAs – R Shankar and H Nagesh- withdrew their support from the government on July 8 and had joined the BJP. Consecutively the strength of the BJP rose from 105 to 107 in the 225-member House. The ruling coalition allegedly tried to take away the two independents to make them participate in the trust vote leading to clashes between Congress and BJP workers. Consequently, Section 144 was imposed in Bengaluru before the trust vote.

The two Independent MLAs had moved the Supreme Court seeking holding of the floor test “forthwith” in the state Assembly. The Supreme Court on Tuesday afternoon had adjourned the hearing on their plea till Wednesday.

In an emotional concluding speech, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy said, “I apologise to Opposition and voters for keeping them waiting. I’m fed up of the current political developments. I’m ready to sacrifice my post.” He also lashed out at the rebel MLAs saying, “The rebels will be disqualified. Their political career will come to an end”.

Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar had summoned 12 rebel MLAs of the Congress to be present in the Assembly at 11am on Tuesday. However, the MLAs expressed their inability to be present in Bengaluru citing personal reasons. They sought four-week’s time to meet the Speaker.

Congress leader HK Patil hit out at the rebel MLAs and said, “This defeat is because of betrayal of our party legislatures. We have come under the influence of various things. I am sure the people of Karnataka will not tolerate this type of betrayal to the party.”


BS Yeddyurappa & other Karnataka BJP MLAs showed victory sign in the Assembly, after the trust vote. BS Yeddyurappa dubbed the victory as a victory of democracy. “People were fed up with Kumaraswamy government. I want to assure people of Karnataka that a new era of development will start now”, he said.

Meanwhile, BJP supporters celebrated at party’s state office in Bengaluru.

Leave a Reply