The Hush Post: The 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs of Delhi have been disqualified after the President of India approved the Election Commission recommendation against the legislators in office-of-profit case. The disqualification happened on Sunday. Even after the disqualification, the AAP government will still have as many as 42 MLAs in the assembly well above the halfway mark in an assembly of 70 seats.

Those who face disqualification are Alka Lamba from Chandni Chowk constituency, Adarsh Shastri from Dwarka constituency, Sanjeev Jha from Burari constituency, Jarnail Singh from Tilak Nagar constituency, Nitin Tyagi from Laxmi Nagar constituency, Vijendra Garg from Rajinder Nagar constituency, Kailash Gehlot from Najafgarh constituency, Som Dutt from Sadar Bazar constituency, Praveen Kumar from Jangpura constituency, Naresh Yadav from Mehrauli constituency, Sharad Kumar Chauhan from Narela constituency, Anil Kumar Bajpai from Gandhi Nagar constituency, Madan Lal Khufiya from Kasturba Nagar constituency, Shiv Charan Goyal from Moti Nagar constituency, Sukhvir Singh Dala from Mundka constituency, Sarita Singh from Rohtas Nagar constituency, Rajesh Gupta from Wazirpur constituency, Rajesh Rishi from Janakpuri constituency, Avtar Singh from Kalkaji constituency, Manoj Kumar from Kondli constituency.

Earlier, AAP which has 67 seats to itself slowly started losing its MLAs. In 2015, AAP had suspended one of its ministers Asim Ahmed Khan and in 2016 AAP sacked another minister Sandeep Kumar involved in a sex scandal. Later, Kapil Mishra rebelled against the party after cabinet reshuffle and subsequently he was sacked too. Rajouri Garden MLA of AAP quit his post to contest the Punjab assembly polls but AAP failed to win the bypolls. After this, AAP’s strength went down to 63.

Meanwhile, Aam Aadmi Party has said that it will again approach the High Court tomorrow and if required even the Supreme Court regarding the issue.

Leave a Reply