The Hush Post: Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh submitted his resignation to Governor Acharya Devrat at noon today. Along with his own, he also submitted the resignation of his council of ministers. The Governor accepted the resignation and requested him and his ministers to continue in office till an alternative arrangement is made or the new government takes charge. He was accompanied by his son Vikramaditya Singh. He stayed there for almost 30 minutes.

On the other hand, BJP legislators will gather tomorrow and discuss the present situation in the party when both the BJP president Satpal Satti and the party’ s chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal  have lost the elections. They will choose the party president as well as the next chief minister of the state. Party’s central observers, defence minister Nirmala Sitaraman and senior BJP leader Narinder Tomar, are in Shimla to discuss the future course of action of the BJP rule in Himachal. BJP bagged 44 seats in the 68-seat assembly on Monday to form the next government in the state.  Accepting defeat, Prem Kumar Dhumal said that the result was unexpected and the party would do introspection.

The BJP ousted the Congress in 1990 and the Congress avenged defeat in 1993. The BJP formed the government with the help of Himachal Vikas Congress in 1998 and the Congress was back in power in 2003. The BJP then made a comeback in 2007 followed by the Virbhadra government in the last five years.

Leave a Reply