Fateh Veer Singh Guram @ The Hush Post: Popular messaging app, WhatsApp, which had recently introduced the ‘delete for all’ option, has made a few changes to it, as per reports. The ‘delete for all’ feature was introduced to delete a particular message that users had sent by mistake. However, there was a set time limit (7 minutes) within which users could delete the message they had sent.
However, the new feature has increased the time limit to one hour, eighteen minutes and sixteen seconds. Also, the app is now planning to introduce the ‘Block Revoke Request’ feature. The company had noticed that some users had been using the modified version of the app and were deleting up to 3 year old messages. The new feature is being introduced to prevent this misuse.
According to WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account, “In order to stop these bad users, WhatsApp has implemented a ‘Block revoke request’ feature. When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends to the recipient(s) a new message having the same ID of the message that the user wants to revoke.”
The account adds “If WhatsApp finds a message in the database having the same ID of the received revoke message request, it checks the data of the message saved in the database, performing an operation: if [current date] – [the date of the saved message] is less than 24 hours, WhatsApp can successfully delete the message.”
Another feature that WhatsApp is planning to roll out is that if the phone of a user is switched off during the time another user has sent out the ‘Delete for Everyone’ request, WhatsApp will wait for 24 hours. If, after 24 hours, the phone still has not been switched on, the ‘Delete for Everyone’ request will be cancelled and the message will remain in the conversation.