Delimitation commission will redraw Jammu & Kashmir constituency map

Kashmir Article 370

The Hush Post | 6:55 pm | One-minute read|

The NDA government is likely to set up a commission for delimitation of constituencies in Jammu & Kashmir. According to the sources, this commission will be set up soon.

This commission will remap Jammu & Kashmir’s assembly and parliamentary constituency maps.

Currently, Jammu & Kashmir has 87 assembly constituencies and six Lok Sabha constituencies. One Lok Sabha constituency and four assembly constituencies are in Ladakh region, which is now a separate union territory.

On the other side, Kashmir valley has 46 assembly constituencies and three parliamentary constituencies. Theoretically, 24 assembly seats are earmarked for Pakistan occupied Kashmir.

The delimitation commission will submit its report to the government for assembly constituencies only as the number of Lok Sabha constituencies cannot be altered because the parliament has passed a law freezing it till 2026.

Earlier today, the NDA government proposed to end the special given to Jammu & Kashmir and presented a state reorganization bill in the Upper House of parliament. However, it created a huge ruckus in the house as the Congress Party opposed the bill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here