Karnataka Assembly election on May 12, results on May 15

Election Commission of India announces schedule for Karnataka Assembly polls

The Hush Post, New Delhi: The voting for Karnataka Assembly elections will be held on May 12 and the counting of votes will be held on May 15 and results would be announced that day.

Election Commission of India (ECI).

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced the Schedules for holding General Elections to the Legislative Assembly of Karnataka after taking into consideration all relevant aspects like climatic conditions, academic calendar, major festivals, prevailing law and order situation in the State, availability of Central Police Forces, time needed for movement, transportation and timely deployment of forces and in-depth assessment of other relevant ground realities.

The ECI said in a notification issued on Tuesday that term of the Legislative Assembly of Karnataka is normally due to expire on May 28, 2018. By virtue of its powers, duties and functions under Article 324 read with Article 172(1) of the Constitution of India and Section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Election Commission of India is required to hold general election to constitute the new Legislative Assembly in the State of Karnataka before expiry of its present term.

The Election Schedule

Schedule for General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Karnataka, 2018

Poll Events Schedule
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification 17.04.2018 (TUE)
Last Date of Nominations 24.04.2018 (TUE)
Date for Scrutiny of Nominations 25.04.2018 (WED)
Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures 27.04.2018 (FRI)
Date of Poll 12.05.2018 (SAT)
Date of Counting 15.05.2018 (TUE)
Date before which election shall be completed 18.05.2018 (FRI)

Leave a Reply