Ludhiana to get new mayor on March 26

The Hush Post: Elected councillors of the Ludhiana Municipal Corporation will be taking oath on Monday March 26. With this, Ludhiana will finally also get a new Mayor.

The oath taking shall take place at Zone A office.

With this speculation on who will be the Mayor will also be put to rest. While the final name of the Mayor is expected to be announced by the Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh, the names being put up are Balkar Singh, Gurpreet Gogi, and Pal Singh Grewal, while names of other senior leaders, including Shyam Sunder Malhotra and Jaiparkash are also under consideration.

Meanwhile major hobnobbing between the elected councillors and MLAs is on on the prospective Mayor.

Due to lack of space, no other person shall be allowed into the meeting hall during oath taking. Only elected councillors, MLAs, and officials with designated duties shall be allowed in.

Patiala divisional commissioner VK Meena shall conduct the oath-taking ceremony. The election of the mayor, senior deputy mayor, and deputy mayor shall also take place on Monday. Speaking about the arrangements MC commissioner Jaskiran Singh said: “We are ready for the ceremony, and officials have been told to make arrangements accordingly.”

Balkar Singh, senior Congress councillor and one of the probable Mayor contenders stated: “It is the decision of the party high command, and I will accept it whole-heartedly. My only preference is the public, and I will continue serving if I do not get the chance.”

Speaking on the same lines, councillor Gurpreet Gogi added: “I was asked to send a letter duly signed by all Congress councillors that the CM had all the rights to elect the mayor, and that I did the  very next day from the election results. We would all abide go by the decision of the party high command.”

Young councillors are all excited about their stint. BJP councillor Manju Aggarwal added: “I am excited to take oath and start my work as a councillor. Though I am already visiting social and religious functions in the ward, officially I will become a councillor only when I will take my oath.”

Chaudhary Sat Parkash was elected the first Mayor in Ludhiana in 1992. He was followed by Opinder Singh Grewal, Nahar Singh Gill, Hakam Singh Giaspura, and Harcharan Singh Gohalwaria as mayor. Monday will see the city gets its sixth Mayor.



Punjab budget presented by FM Manpreet Singh Badal; check highlights

Leave a Reply