Punjab Democratic Alliance announces candidates for 7 Lok Sabha seats

Punjab Democratic Alliance

The Hush Post| 10:18 pm | one-minute-read

The Punjab Democratic Alliance (PDA) has announced candidates for the seven of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in the state. The announcement came on Monday. The PDA arrived at a common understanding on seats that each ally is likely to get.

The alliance comprises Punjab Ekta Party (PEP), Lok Insaaf Party (LIP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), suspended AAP MP Dharamvira Gandhi’s Nava Punjab Party (NPP), the Revolutionary Marxist Party of India (RMPI) and CPI.

The PDA has fielded Gandhi from Patiala. The likelihood of Preneet Kaur fighting from Patiala for the Congress has already been finalised.

Apart from Gandhi, Paramjit Kaur Khalra, wife of missing rights activist Jaswant Singh Khalra will fight from Khadoor Sahib, Manwinder Singh Giaspura from Fatehgarh Sahib (SC), Jaiti MLA Baldev Singh Jaiton, who has resigned from the AAP, from Faridkot (SC), Vikram Singh Sodhi from Anandpur Sahib, Khushi Ram from Hoshiarpur (SC) and Balwinder Kumar from Jalandhar (SC) seat.

Khaira said BSP has been allocated Anandpur Sahib, Jalandhar and Hoshiarpur seats, while PEP will contest on Bathinda, Faridkot and Khadoor Sahib seats. The LIP, led by Bains brothers, will field candidates from Ludhiana, Amritsar and Fatehgarh Sahib. The NPP has been allotted Patiala seat while, CPI and RMPI will contest from Ferozepur and Gurdaspur, respectively.

Gandhi announced that he has got his political party registered as Nava Punjab Party (NPP), on whose symbol he will contest the Lok Sabha polls for re-election from Patiala.

He said that the NPP will be the successor of the Punjab Manch that he had floated earlier.

Leave a Reply