Umpires erred, says former Aussie umpire Simon Taufel about awarding 6 runs in overthrow

Ben Stokes

The Hush Post | 7:15 pm | Two-minute read

The Australian umpire Simon Taufel reportedly said that the umpires’ decision to award 6 runs for the controversial overthrow in the final over of England’s chase in World Cup 2019 final is an “error in judgement.”

There are questions raised whether the umpires’ decision to give 6 runs for the overthrow when only 5 runs should have been awarded was right or not as per ICC rules.

Team England was chasing 242 in the World Cup final but they were bowled out for 241.  The nail-biting match ended as a tie and Super Over was played to decide the winner. Surprisingly, the Super Over also ended as a tie and England team was declared as world champions because they had scored more boundaries during the match.

During the last over of the match, England needed 9 runs off the last 3 balls and the overthrow gave England extra runs.

Ben Stokes was trying to complete his second run at the striker’s end. Before he could reach the crease, the ball hit his bat instead of the stumps and reached the boundary line. The English team was given 6 runs for this in the tense final over of the match.

Stressing that the decision on the overthrow was a clear mistake, Taufel added that it is unfair to say that the overthrow cost New Zealand their first World Cup.

Simon Taufel reportedly said, “It’s a clear mistake it’s an error of judgment. In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw. Obviously, TV replays showed otherwise.”

“The difficulty you (umpires) have here is you’ve got to watch batsmen completing runs, then change focus and watch for the ball being picked up, and watch for the release (of the throw). You also have to watch where the batsmen are at that exact moment. It’s unfair on England, New Zealand and the umpires involved to say it decided the outcome,” Taufel added.

ICC rule 19.8 Overthrow or wilful act of fielder says 

“If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side and the allowance for the boundary and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

Leave a Reply