Surfing too much porn online? Google will poke you

Porn surfing
Representational Image

If someone is browsing too much porn online, Google will put its foot in the middle

The Hush Post: If you think that using incognito mode to browse porn online will keep you safe from being tracked, then you are wrong. You are under constant watch and Google will poke you if you watch too much porn online.

If someone is browsing too much porn online, Google will put its foot in the middle. The internet giant knows that anyone is surfing for pornographic content online and will poke him/her they are watching too much of porn, a report said.

A number of internet users browse adult content in the closed rooms. And to make it more secure, many people use the browser’s incognito mode so that their browsing history is not saved on their computers. Google’s Chrome has an incognito mode that allows you to browse porn through your heart’s content and your device will make sure nothing is stored on it. But, the fact now is that Google knows that you are using the incognito mode to surf porn and other such explicit material, the report said.

However, internet users do not need to worry as much as Google won’t stop them — but it will definitely alert them that you are watching too much of it, it was reported.

When anyone opens a few too many incognito tabs in Chrome, Google’s browser automatically pops up a smiley or a winking face icon instead of the regular tab counter that shows up on the right top corner. The same can be seen on both desktop and mobile devices, the report said.

Though it may be a step by the internet giant to keep you away from ‘too much porn’ and saving you from getting addicted to porn, we are still unsure about the fact on ‘how does Google know that you are using the incognito mode to watch porn?’ is Google tracking your route? Or is Google keeping a close watch?

Probably not — Google might not be collecting data, but surely knows that incognito modes are usually used when someone watches porn. However, incognito modes could be used for various reasons —banking, shopping, payments, private emails apart from porn and privacy. Google banks on this information that you are using too many incognito tabs and it’s about time you take a break, it was reported.

Google seems to be targeting users who have too many incognito modes opened with a cheeky hidden message. So next time you see that smiley icon on the extreme right corner of your browser — you know what it means and what you should do, the report said.

Useful tip: Keep it in mind that browsing porn or doing ‘other’ stuff is still not safe with incognito tabs. The safest method yet is to use a VPN that can keep you anonymous on the web. Take a noted that incognito mode browsing is not completely private.

Leave a Reply