UPSC finalizes three names for DGP Punjab; Mohd Mustafa, Dinkar Gupta and Samant Goyal

Next Punjab DGP

The Hush Post | 8:24 pm | Two-minute read

UPSC has finalized three names on Monday for Punjab DGP post. The panel has been sent back to Punjab Government for final selection. The names includes DGP (Intelligence) Dinkar Gupta, DGP Special Task Force (STF) Mohd Mustafa and Samant Goyal.

The merit and the seniority was discussed at a meeting held in Delhi. According to the sources, in a day or two, the state government officials will pick one name from three. However, Goyal’s name has surprised many as he is on the central deputation.

Goyal is a 1984 batch officer who is scheduled to retire in May 2020. Also, as the Supreme Court suggests, he does not fall in the criteria of having almost two years of service left as he will retire soon next year. Surprisingly there is no name of DGP (PSPCL) S Chattopadhaya in the panel. The sources claims that it will be a tough choice between Mohd Mustafa and Dinkar Gupta.

Punjab Police Chief Suresh Arora and chief secretary Karan Avtar Singh attended the meeting. Along with them, special secretary from Union Ministry of home affairs, a UPSC member and director general of Parliamentary force were also present.

However, earlier a panel was sent which included names of nine DGPs and several ADGPs having completed 20 years of their services.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here