107 TMC, Cong, CPI(M) MLAs to join BJP in West Bengal: Mukul Roy

Mukul Roy

The Hush Post|8:40 am|one-minute-read|

More than 100 MLAs from TMC, Congress and CPI(M) are set to join Bharatiya Janata Party soon. This was stated by (BJP) leader of West Bengal Mukul Roy on Saturday. He said that the exact number of MLAs joining would be 107.

He did not reveal when the MLAs would join though but soon, he said.

Speaking at a press conference, Mukul Roy said that all the lawmakers are in touch with the state leadership of their party. He also said that the party has prepared a list of all the MLAs of Congress, TMC and CPM who would be joining the BJP.

The development has come just two days after at least 10 Congress MLAs in Goa switched to the BJP in presence of party working president JP Nadda and Chief Minister Pramod Sawant. Also in Karnataka 16 Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) MLAs have tendered their resignation to the Speaker and could join the BJP.

In Goa, 10 Congress MLAs joined the BJP on Thursday. On Saturday, three of the 10 Congress MLAs were inducted into the state cabinet by Chief Minister Pramod Sawant.

To induct the new ministers, Pramod Sawant had asked three Goa Forward Party (GFP) ministers and one Independent MLA to resign from his ministry so that the new ministers could be inducted.

The three GFP ministers who have been asked to resign are Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palyekar, and Jayesh Salgaonkar and the Independent MLA is Rohan Khaunte.

In Karnataka, a total of 16 MLAs of the Congress and JD(S) have sent in their resignation to the Karnataka assembly Speaker. According to the latest reports, five more MLAs have moved the Supreme Court, alleging the Speaker has not been accepting their resignation.

Meanwhile, MTB Nagaraj has said that he will tack back his resignation if K Sudhakar also withdraws. Nagaraj’s statement came minutes after DK Shivakumar and some other Congress leaders met the MLA at his residence.

Leave a Reply